Awolnation

Sometimes I imagine how the musicians I am listening to might have been as kids.
I bet that Aaron Bruno (from Under the Influence of Giants) was one of those boys you wouldn’t have wanted around because they are too hyper, always on the lookout for the next adventure as if they are on a never-ending ration of caffeine.
At least, that’s what his project Awolnation sounds like.
Don’t get me wrong, it sounds great. It’s a hectic piece of music that even with a Bluessong like “Guilty Filthy Soul” seems to chase you. It’s a brilliant mix of 50s Rock’n Roll, 80s Pop, Electro, Soul and Garage and something completely different  to round it up. It’s exactly what you need if you had a bad day and need something to cheer you up. Because of it’s restlessness and great pop tunes, it probably will be one of those things that either get really big or (probably) will stay one of those absolutely underestimated gems that only nerds like us will love till the end of days. We will talk about it and tell our friends to listen to it and they will never have the time to, which will be a shame because let’s face it: if all pop music would be like this, rather than like Kesha or The Black Eyed Peas, we would be the happiest race in the universe.

Here’s a weird, surreal trailer to Awolnation and his upcoming EP

You can get a free song on his homepage if you sign onto the newsletter. I did and if I get killed by an internet virus that is a Japanese ghost-girl, I will gladly tell you (as I will be dead then, I have to do so as a German ghost-girl, you will recognize me by my dirndl and the ghostly beerglass in my hand)

One thought on “Awolnation

Leave a Reply

