Favourite Songs: Cold War Kids – Coffee Spoon

I have this EP since months but instead of listening to the whole thing I blindly concentrated on “Audience of One” and “Sermons” and absolutely ignored this tender song that is lyrically so cynical (oh, how I love ambiguities whenever they don’t concern social interactions). According to the band, the EP “Behave yourself” was supposed to be a step between the last album and the new one that apparently will be something completely different.
There are bands who put out exactly the same album after they said things like that (I am thinking of Green Day…) but in this case I actually believe in the guys and hope for great things because they are one of those bands that make me feel at a loss whenever I have to compare them to other bands because their sound is so unique and I dig that – totally.

And I can’t say how happy I am that BadCountryx recorded a stunningly beautiful live  version of this song.

Leave a Reply

