Quickie with Dinosaur Feathers and Imaginary Cities

Ok, very short entry because I have to watch “Dexter” and I already spent two hours on the Young Colossus review that will be posted this week.

Dinosaur Feathers have a new album out which is great because it starts out like Indiepop and now and then turns the artsy corner which I named Beatles-Artpop in a post from about two years ago. Oh yes, I was always this bad at inventing new genre-names. Nevermind me, though, enjoy them:

(it’s hilarious, their acoustic sets are full of awkward because if you don’t have a guitar – you won’t know what to do with your hands!)

Imaginary Cities are from Canada and I guess that they will be big because they do this kind of music that you listen to for a while and then suddenly you realize that you really like what you’re hearing. There is a certain Adele-vibe in the vocals but they also remind me of – fuck, what do they remind me of? I’ll come back to that later.

They do have quite a few German fans because they worked together with Thees Uhlman who also covered their song “Hummingbird” (but unfortunately made it slow and dreary – but hey, that’s just my opinion).

“Don’t Cry” is my absolute favourite but for now “Temporary Resident” has to do.

You can listen to both bands on spinner.com this week.

Leave a Reply

