Lazy Sunday: Happy Mother’s Day

My mom and I have a very good relationship, I would even go so far to say that it’s close to Gilmore Girls, although we don’t see each other 6 times a day and we actually do laugh when someone says something funny.

But we do have a weird and highly entertaining sitcom relationship as we have just enough in common but are completely different to be the perfect odd couple.

There is no one on this planet who has such fantastic slapstick moments and can talk about them so incredibly straight-faced as my mom. Even in writing her stories how she managed to put shoe polish on her cat or tried to describe the word “work” by trying to miming (but also singing) the secretary song with the “ping” are my all-time favourites and rate as high as The Big Lebowsky and The Jester. Whenever she tells stories like this I am laughing till I cry and she just sits there and says: I don’t know why you are laughing, it really happened like that!

(the song is by composer Leroy Anderson, by the way)

One very fond memory which I might have mentioned a couple of times on this blog, however, has something to do with music. See, my mom rocks, both my parents do but I actually think that my mom always was the main influence on my taste in music even if I – for a very long time – listened to some serious crap.

(their comeback is like a constant reminder of my shame. Wait, is that what the Michael Fassbender movie is about?)

My mom was and is the biggest Led Zep fan so we listened to quite a lot of them during car tours. Now, I had a severe case of motion sickness as a kid, it was very very bad and because my mom was such a big Led Zep fan, a lot of my vomiting got the Led Zep soundtrack, at least that’s what stuck with me over the years.

Anyone who knows a little about cognitive psychology knows that however good the music, if you listen to it whilst experiencing something truly horrible you will connect those two and it will tinge the music a lot.

(Dazed and confused and standing at the side of the road to hurl out my breakfast)

So a sentence I actually said when my mom tried to get me to like Led Zep: “I don’t like Led Zeppelin, they make me vomit!”

My mom even tried to brainwash me to get that unfortunate connection out of my head.

This one time, I sat down and watched some Ozzy Osbourne documentary (my mom used to joke that I should marry Jake Osbourne but that was before all the reality things…) and I absolutely loved Black Sabbath and Ozzy Osbourne afterwards because Ozzy was cool (probably also drunk and crazy but I was a weird kid who liked weird people). Hey, my mom thought, if it’s that easy, I just try the same with Zeppelin.

(my first favourite rock album ever was Osbourne’s “No more tears”, I was 7 or 8 and I am very glad I didn’t understand the lyrics.)

But those dudes were way too serious and didn’t do enough freaky horror stuff for me. Even Jimmy Page’s infatuation with Crowley can’t beat biting a dove’s head off. My mom was gutted and didn’t understand, I think that was one of the many times she feared that I would never develop a good taste in music which is why she is now incredibly proud whenever I listen to some old band from the 70s. It’s as if Jessica Simpson suddenly would start to do heartfelt blues or Adam Sandler would never cast Rob Scheider ever again.

In hindsight, I actually think that Led Zep was a little to psychedelic for me as a kid. I was into quite straight melodies back then, Black Sabbath and Ozzy rely a lot on that and they are awesome with it. But Zeppelin are another chapter. It’s a bit like the one scene in “Venture Bros.” .

(Funnily enough, I also discovered Prog Rock through my mom)

Anyways, although I didn’t listen to Led Zep for years to come, when I finally came around I already knew pretty much all their songs subconsciously and had a great time discovering the greatness of this band and I am very grateful that my parents did buy me tickets for the Backstreet Boys concert but never gave up on my potential.

Music is still something that keeps my mom and me connected, we were at the Roskilde festival and to numerous concerts and while she got me to listen to Genesis and Peter Gabriel, I got her to love the Maccabees and Wolf Parade. I love that she is still so open towards new music and that we can enjoy bands old and new together.

Whenever I visit her I always hope that we stumble upon a late night music show with oldies from the 70s or 80s so she can tell me about her youth (she was a lot more rebellious and dangerous than me but as I was super boring as a teen, that probably isn’t difficult in the first place) and we can laugh about the ridiculous fashion because we quite obviously won’t regret what we wear now in ten years.

Leave a Reply

