Turing Machine and Delicate Steve: Longest intro ramps to talk over on the radio

I don’t listen to that many instrumental bands, I love great voices, I have a short attention span and I like storytelling via lyrics so I am really not cut out for the usual long winding instrumental bands even if I do slide through half an hour of prog if there’s half a minute of singing at the beginning and the end.

However, sometimes, music without vocals is the best way to get in certain state of minds, concentrating on things or tuning things out that are too irritating to simply ignore them (people, for example).

Turing Machine do the kind of manic BRMC R’n’R that feels as if they are heading for a heart attack. This is truly music I have to be in a certain mood for to enjoy but if the time is right, this can be the kind of music that gets me to places (like different states of mind, dude).

By the way, a Turing Machine is a pretty cool machine invented by Alan Turing in 1939 and it serves no other purpose than making a point about other machines (basically, that machines have their limits and any given machine at any point of time will always have its limits). It’s a little bit like a scientific fable with a moral at the end and all. Only that the moral goes bleep bloop bleep.

Delicate Steve were suggested by a friend of mine, I am always horrible with suggestions by friends, not because I don’t trust my friends to have a good taste in music but there are only a few windows open every other week where I have the time and patience to listen to music that I didn’t choose to listen to. It’s the first step to becoming a truly obnoxious music nerd.

Anyways, Delicate Steve go into a completely different direction than Turing Machine, they actually feature very sparse vocals but most of the time they distort them in a way that they rather sing along to the guitar. The music in general is incredibly warm and full. If Turing Machine are the scientific robot fable, then Delicate Steve are the weird out of body experience people tell you about around a bonfire while someone is dancing naked next to you (and you try so hard to concentrate on the person telling you the story and hope, the nude guy doesn’t shwang his shlong in your direction).

No, sorry, don’t know where that came from. What I wanted to say is that Delicate Steve sound very psychedelic, 70/Beatles/Led Zeppelin-ish mixed with a few electronic warbles and some funk. Freaky and awesome.

5 thoughts on “Turing Machine and Delicate Steve: Longest intro ramps to talk over on the radio

  1. The Turing Machine always makes me think of Roger Penrose and similarly confused people who try to prove that machines can never be intelligent, ignoring the obvious fact that there are already intelligent machines and that they are even using one themselves in their doomed attempts.
    Anyway: I don’t care for instrumental music in general and most of the exceptions are for the Portal soundtrack.

    Like

    1. The Portal soundtrack…hm, have to listen to that one then. And I am afraid I am way too uneducated on the Turin Machine subject to comment on it, I just found out about it. But out of sheer ignorance I would say that intelligence is not something that can’t be produced artificially.
      What I wonder is whether the same goes for creativity.

      Like

      1. Not to be rude or anything: It would seem to me that the distinction is entirely besides the point. (I’m not even sure if intelligence without creativity makes sense, but one thing at a time.)
        There are thinking machines, and they have not always been there, so there’s not much room for doubt that they can be produced. The question remains how.
        I might go so far as to claim that there’s nothing the human brain can do that could not, in principle, be reproduced using only beerkegs and tennis-balls, but I realise that might be taking the whole “in principle” thing a little bit far.
        The soundtrack: I don’t know if it works for people who don’t love the game, but I’d like to find out.
        It can be downloaded for free, so no reason to be shy.

        Like

      2. I guess the “in principle” thing is also where it becomes really difficult. We could say that at some point we’ll be able to create a human like brain out of beer kegs and tennis balls but the probability that this actually will happen in the near future (even with somewhat better materials than a typical frat party set) is – at least for me right now – very very low.
        But then again, the Turing Machine wants to prove that the probability is zero, so you’re right.
        Concering intelligence and creativity: I guess creativity is essential, after all, one of the studies to estimate animal’s intelligence is their creative use of tools and throwing poop in artistic patterns (I made one of these up). But to create a machine that could come up with something like the silly walk sketch from Monty Python…that would be some insanely awesome machine. But again, “in principle” I would never say that it’s not possible and I actually would be pretty psyched if it happens during my lifetime (which will be 230 years according to the old gypsy lady I met last month).

        Like

      3. I’d actually guess that the whole intelligence thing is not half as awesome as it seems to us, but then on the other hand, who else is there to measure that?

        Like

Leave a Reply

