Battlepug: 5 reasons why Moll is naked

So, Battlepug – in case you haven’t heard of it yet – is the new Eisner award-winning webcomic by Mike Norton. It sprung to life in 2011 and is the story of the hunkiest hunk in all hunktown who is clad in a leather rag (or something) and rides on a giant pug to revenge the destruction of his hometown village. There is also a giant Axolotl, so there is no reason to not love this as much as you can.

So far so absolutely epic. It’s also a story within a story because the hunk’s adventures are being told to two little doggies by a butt-naked lady.

In an interview, Mike Norton said, he had his reasons why she was butt-naked and I do believe him. But that didn’t keep me from thinking of potential scenarios that might or might not be spot on with Mike’s actual vision. We’ll have to see, I guess.

1. Nudist camp

Maybe this story plays somewhere in Europe, as everyone in America knows, Europeans are naked most of the time. And I should know, I am from East Germany, formerly known as GDR, we had something called “FKK” which means “free body culture” which means that we not only had nudist colonies but endless beaches of naked people and no one gave a damn.

Of course with Mike being from America he has portrayed Moll a little incorrectly, see, the European nudist scene sounds like an erotic daydream but in reality it’s just a lot of old people with skin tanned so much that they resemble weird, wrinkly amphibians. Or even worse, a lot of old people with skin so pale that they resemble some weird, wrinkly cave amphibians that probably glow in the dark.

2. Wet T-Shirt contest

Moll probably had a night out with the girls and after they got ready at their home, having a pillow fight in their undies and then kiss-practicing for the guys later, they went out, got totally drunk and then participated in a wet t-shirt contest. Moll obviously won, like, look at those hooters. Anyways, she got home and got out of the wet clothes and then realized that it was laundry day at the palace and all her clothes were in the royal washing machine, oh boy.

3. Selkie tradition

As a clever tie-in to Bad Machinery’s recent adventure, Moll probably is a Selkie who has come to land, shed her skin which then got stolen by a young and handsome (and probably hunky) sultan who hid the skin and made her his princess. However, as we all know, Selkies like frolicking around naked, so that’s that.

4. Empathy with pant-less friends

Look, we all know how much little doggies like to be put in human clothes, that’s why they always look so darn happy in the pictures. And Moll knows that. However, as flashy as a pug looks in a sweater, it’s something completely different with pants, there’s just something about pug waist-lines that makes it impossible for any pants to look flattering on them. So to not make her friend feel bad, she was just going nudy to show her support.

5. The Patrick Stewart solution

With Battlepug, we have a story within a story, that’s all fine but Mike Norton can do more than that, in fact, this is actually a story within a story within a story and it’s being told by Patrick Stewart’s Patrick Stewart character from the british hit series “Extras”. It makes so much sense that every other explanation will instantly self-destruct right now.

Which reminds me of the best moment of tv history, sorry, it doesn’t fit the topic but then again, Bowie fits everywhere:

8 thoughts on “Battlepug: 5 reasons why Moll is naked

  1. So, I just had to check this out, considering you intreaguing comment on the enormous size of the protagonist’s Axolotl, but I fear it’s not for me, in spite of the admittedly very well-rounded story and the gorgeously proportioned humour.
    Maybe it’s that I just don’t like comics, maybe it’s something else, but I just can’t find my way into caring what happens next.

    Like

      1. Haha, I see what you did there. I remember you mentioning it once on your blog that you’re not too much into comics, no use to force you into it. Did you never like it or did you read them as a kid? I think the fact that I was so much into comics as a kid (and basically never really grew up) counts a lot in my case. It is a weird format for serious topics, though, but it can work (I am thinking of Persepolis).

        Like

      2. As I might already have written there: I want to like comics, and I like the idea of telling a story in sequencial picture art, but I have not yet found a comic I can really care about. Maybe one of arslibertatis’ recommendations will do.
        Growing up, I wasn’t into comics, either, for the same reason, though I have to admit, my perpective was even more skewed then, because it was limited to the cheap and ugly comics I skimmed through while waiting for an appointment with my dentist, who, at that time, was horribly discorganized, so I sometimes had to wait for three or four hours (literally literally!). A lot of time for bad comics.

        Like

      3. Damn, that’s though. Waiting at the dentist is the worst, I usually read the GEO nowadays but back then I do remember they hardly ever had good magazines and I had the Mickey Mouse at home, so I always knew the editions at the dentist.
        Maybe you should try a one-volume Graphic Novel. Serial comics can be really difficult to get into, especially when you pick up somewhere in the middle. A lot of Graphic Novels also experiment a lot with style and narration but then again, if you can’t get into it…I personally wouldn’t try too hard, why waste hours, days and months on a thing that you just don’t like?

        Like

    1. Because I kind of do like it. It’s like those stories other people tell about former love interests they just can’t get over.
      And like with those, comics are a reliable source of disappointment and sadness for me.
      Oh, how I remember holding the first volume of “Hellsing” in my hands, full of hope and looking forward to loving it as much as the anime version, and then slowly realising that there could never be anything between us…

      Like

      1. Nice analogy, I feel the same with a lot of bands I should like as an indie girl (Smashing Pumpkins, Pixies, Sonic Youth). I’d like to like them but whenever I listen to them I get so bored. Maybe one day you find this one pretty young comic that will sweep you off your feet and then it will be butterflies and clouds and a lot of nerds singing.
        I think reading a comic adaption of a movie/series (or a book, for that matter) is always difficult. I never like those. The only comic that worked great even though I first saw the movie was “Ghostworld” by Daniel Clowes and that was written simultaneously while he was working on the movie, so the style is similar but the stories are pretty different which is interesting, like they play in alternate universes. His style is also different to the usual comic styles, so maybe you just haven’t found the right stylistic approach to the medium yet.

        Like

      2. Actually, the Hellsing manga came way before the anime series (of which there are even two, strangely).
        Well, I’ll be sure to tell everyone about it if I ever find that comic that does it for me.

        Like

Leave a Reply

