Harry Podcast: Around Comics are the best 2 hours you can waste on comics

At work I write for a comic blog now, you know, because being the music nerd is apparently not enough to turn into the office Urkel (we have way too many developers to make it that easy and I have to say, the myth that all IT nerds are very witty and fun is a big, dirty and stinky lie). Anyways, during my research I stumbled over this apparently incredibly famous podcast. I am usually not that much into podcasts (I also am not into talk shows, so there’s a pattern) but this is really cool even though it’s super long.

more like endless podcast, ammiright?

It’s basically a bunch of comic people (not just fans but actual artists and writers) talking about very broad topics. The fun is in the good production quality (that can be fun after you’ve dug through a few horribly recorded podcasts), the humor of the hosts and the guests and the ramblings. They tell a lot of anecdotes and just little things that most of the time have not directly something to do with the topic (if there is a topic) but it’s usually interesting because it feels like this very good-natured bar talk you have with friends where you talk about pregnancy gore* one minute and about the not so tasty cat-poo-coffee two minutes later (just to give some completely random examples that me and my friends obviously never talked about, cough, cough). So imagine that only with a lot more comics.

I said “good-natured” and I mean it. I watched one episode of Kevin Smith’s comic shop documentary and it put me off because they were like nasty little goblins watching over their gold (do goblins have gold? Or was it just dwarves and leprechauns? No, I am sure, goblins had gold, too). It is interesting and no, they’re obviously not goblins (goblins don’t exist, duh) but also so cynical and misanthropic and really condescending towards customers they deem not, cool/nerdy (haha, paradox). It’s bad enough to get into something new when you’re not 11 years anymore but you wouldn’t want a bunch of older nerd guys treat you as if your ignorance on all different Robins, their origin and their later alter egos is the reason why there is so much war in the world.

Robin is the chick, right?

But with Around Comics you don’t feel like that at any time, everyone makes jokes about themselves and about others but it’s all in a very friendly manner, it doesn’t feel as if anyone is picking on someone. And I love that. So if you can stand two hours of random guys (hardly ever girls, though) chat about comics – try it.

*It is scary how many hours my friends and I can fill with horror stories about pregnancy. None of us was ever pregnant and after knowing what we know we probably never will be. Seriously, pregnancy is so disgusting.

2 thoughts on “Harry Podcast: Around Comics are the best 2 hours you can waste on comics

  1. Hey! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest
    authoring a blog article or vice-versa? My website discusses a
    lot of the same subjects as yours and I think we could greatly
    benefit from each other. If you are interested feel free to send
    me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

    Like

    1. Well, your blog covers pregnancy and making babies…unless I totally missed something, blacked out and wrote a dozen articles about that topic, I think I have to miss out on that exchange. But I guess, you’re a spammy-bot anyways, so who am I talking to anyway? Not that I wouldn’t talk to robots, hell, I’d even have a drink with them but well…erm, no thanks. But thanks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

