Favourite Songs: Turtle Giant ‘We were kids’

I would have written a Mumford & Sons review but even though I like a few songs dearly, the album feels like a shake’n bake of the debut and is therefore not really something I have new things to say about.

So let’s hop to the next, which is this fine fine band from Brazil, which is next to Sepultura the only band from there that I know. Turtle Giant make music that sounds like it comes from the opposite direction – Canada, to be clear. Seriously, when I listened to “We were kids” from their current EP “All hidden places” I was reminded of all that is good from Frog Eyes and Swan Lake, which might stem from the vocal similarities with Carey Mercer.

Admitted, “We were kids” is one of the perkiest songs, the rest is more mellow along the lines of Grizzly Bear and The Antlers but that is all fine.

I love the surf vibe of the song and the urgency, I don’t know what it is but this slightly manic urgency pops up in a lot of my favorite songs. Not that that would have anything to do with me being manic or desperate or anything, hahahahahahahah, ahem.

By the way, if you like this, you might like the fine assortment of other turtle-related bands?

Leave a Reply

