Kadavar will turn your summer into a blazing hot hell-ride of awesomeness…and beards…lots of beards

I am actually in the mood for light and fluffy indie pop right now to get into the mood of spring (even though, quite honestly, the many people make me want to listen to Mathcore and everything else loud and aggressive). But I make an exception for Kadavar who are more suited for hot and simmering summer months but shouldn’t wait that long.

Kadavar look and sound as if they just stumbled out of a time-traveling VW-bus and if I ever get to my long-time plan of listing the greatest bands in alternative and indie-music, then these guys will rank high. The cool thing about Kadavar and their very 70s sound is the fact that the instrumentals are the weirdo and intricate compositions of an awesome psychedelic ubergroup but that their vocals are metal. Oh…let me rephrase that…70s metal – the best of the best. This mixture is absolutely amazing to get into this weird and giddy zone where you drift in and out of psychedelic wonders but get drawn back to the straight-forward vocals.

Their album “Abra Kadavar” is a heavy thing of grand proportions. It will turn you into a cool cat in no time and you will want to grow a beard even if you (fortunately for dating reasons) don’t possess enough testosterones. Unfortunately, I somehow missed them playing in Berlin* but I can assure you – without ever having seen them live – that there will be heaps of people with long hair, slowly shaking their long and luscious manes up and down in sluggish motions while their eyes are closed. It’s the way of the true 70s rocker.

*Fortunately, though, they come from Berlin, so seeing them again won’t be such a big problem. For once, this city is home to a band that doesn’t create 80% of their music with a Macbook. And yes, that’s polemic but let me be the bitter old Rock’n roll dudette for once, ‘K?

 

6 thoughts on “Kadavar will turn your summer into a blazing hot hell-ride of awesomeness…and beards…lots of beards

  1. Doesn’t quite do it for me. Too 70s, I guess. Pity, though, because I’m usually in favoiur of consuming Kada…
    No, wait, that came out all wrong. Let me rephrase: I usually love to savour Kada…
    No, still leaves room for misunderstanding. I’ll try again, without awkward double-entendre:
    I like eating rotten corpses.

    Like

  2. I really like it, nice old-fashioned sound with a heavy summer-y feeling to it, and I must admit I have a soft spot for ‘heaps of people with long hair, slowly shaking their long and luscious manes up and down’.

    Like

    1. I also wear my hair short most of the time and that is one of the very few occasions when I really miss long hair – it simply feels different when you shake your head. We should take headbang-wings to concert for that reason.

      Like

Leave a Reply

