Hebronix ‘Unreal’ is so good, it’s unreal

So, Hebronix is actually Yuck’s Daniel Blumberg and according to Pitchfork, his album “Unreal” is a hangover/break-up album and now I will not mention the Pitchfork-review again because as usual it gives a good rating but still manages to sound as if the album is not really good.

So, I really dig “Unreal”, because it is a fuzzed out collection of six songs with over length but oh, the over length is the secret to this music. I am right now incredibly unmotivated to get into new music because hardly anything seems really good (exceptions like Radical Face have been covered, though) and usually, it’s not the loud, energetic bands and artists that jump around to show me a good time that get me out of this funk but the kind of artists that seem to slowly drag me out of that quicksand of mediocre music. And there it is that understated yet glimmering beauty that is Hebronix. Hidden in those drawn out lo-fi-songs are beautiful pop-tunes that fade in and out of the weirdness and leave all the songs sounding lighter and happier than they should (for a break-up album anyways, if it is one, who knows, Pitchfork might be lying, I don’t get the feeling of a break-up or even a hangover here, but I am just some silly old nerd).

The album was produced by Neil Hagerty and was born in London on a four-track and this dude is 23 years old and was 22 when he wrote this music and I can not believe how great Blumberg will get if he already can put out an album that is that comfortable in airy fuzz-pop without getting annoying (did I mention that this is roughly his fifth album? Some people, I tell ya).

Oh, and he has the weirdest homepage.

 

6 thoughts on “Hebronix ‘Unreal’ is so good, it’s unreal

  1. I was hoping it would be better than the new Yuck album. They seem to have lost their scrappy edge since Blumberg left. It’s not a fail by any means, but that band was something more with him.

    Like

    1. I gotta admit, with the exception of one or two songs, I’ve never really listened to Yuck but might do so now. Yuck – the scrappy years, of course.

      Like

  2. I was so set against this and yet watching the video left me with a smile on my face.

    This track completely makes sense as coming from a breakup. Having an important part of identity leaves you (or leaves me, to be precise) feeling unreal – without identity. I get it. I smiled. Now I’m a little bit happy and real.

    Like

Leave a Reply

