Shelby Earl: In the depths of my playlists, I found you

Sometimes I have to shuffle through my old playlists because the amount of great artists that get buried in my life’s tumultuous ups and downs is staggering and I would miss out so much. Take Shelby Earl whose song “Sea of Glass” (a modern take on Dusty Springfield if there ever was one) delighted me so much that it ended up in the highly elitist list “I love you song, I really do”. I might have never gotten back to her, heck, I don’t even remember when and under which circumstances I added her back then but her recent album “Swift Arrows” is such a beautiful mix of oldschool country and prom dance pomp from the 50s that you seriously consider buying that poodle-skirt after all (oh, they were all the rage back then, those poodle-skirts).

But then she gets all moody and melancholic and you think that that oversized straw hat and the boots with the gleaming spurs might be even better – or would they look good with the poodle skirt, what do you think?

It’s a darn good album is all I’m saying.

Leave a Reply

